GIVE ME JEANS AND A TSHIRT OR GIVE ME DEATH

It’s about double standards, y’all. Everyone tells you to be yourself. “Like yourself is this definite thing, like a toaster or something” (thanks Angela Chase). You have to wear clothing that reflects your personality, your individuality. Embrace your freaking aura or whatever.

The other day, I was reading this pretty cool interview with stylist Shirley Kurata, and though I enjoyed reading about her aesthetic sensibilities, I couldn’t help but cringe at the following:

“It saddens me to see people in boring jeans and T-shirts these days. I love people who are willing to try something new and different, even if it might end up being too crazy or bizarre.”

Well, damn. My whole life is wrong!

But seriously, I’m indifferent to fashion. I’ll admire a well-dressed person, but I rarely aspire to attain that. When I get dressed in the morning, my thoughts are generally along the lines of

  • is this clean enough?
  • will this cause me physical discomfort?
  • what’s the weather like?
  • do I look okay?

And, the end.

This is not to say that I don’t understand the desire to look interesting. If that’s you, go for it! You wear your vintage hat and crazy mod dress, and you work the hell out of it. I even understand the desire to emulate someone else’s style. Hey, I wear my Rory Gilmore saddle shoes, like, probably every day.

Actually, let’s talk about Rory Gilmore for a minute: she had her shit together in high school, but the second she started dressing “fashionably,” her life got wrong. Don’t even pretend like it’s not true. Give me jeans and a t-shirt Rory over yacht-stealing college-drop-out Rory any day. Rory and Lane checking out Stars Hollow’s new/only music store? This is my jam right here.

The bottom line is that nobody should tell you how to dress. Don’t sit there and tell me that fashion is about self-expression one minute and then criticize people for dressing boringly or less “uniquely” than you the next. This is real. This is me. I’m exactly who I’m supposed to be, okay? I’ll wear jeans and a t-shirt every day if I feel like it, because it’s what I like to wear. Am I lazy? Maybe. It doesn’t make my outfits any less “personal” than yours.

So please, keep your double standards out of my internet. Thank you and goodnight.

-Taylor Brogan

About Taylor Brogan

Managing Editor - inconnu magazine. Tweets @thbrogan.

DON'T BE AN ASSHOLE

