A Brief History of Crushing

Crank the Teddy Geiger and the Dashboard Confessional, cause you’ve got it bad. Crushing, like fangirling, takes a lot of commitment as well as a good deal self-deception. I think I used to be one of those people who thought that I “needed” to have a crush on someone and continually convinced myself of my “love” for guys throughout the more mortifying years of my life, aka middle school. You can only imagine what results that yielded, dear reader. I’ll spare you the gory details, but the gist of it is that I finally realized what I’d been doing all my life, essentially, and resolved to put a stop to my idiocy.

The only thing is, that in deciding to be “true to myself”, I was finally susceptible to what every other normal person had been feeling toward boys in their grade, as opposed to the fangirling over fictional characters, an art form in which I was well-versed. It was a hard world out there, let me tell you. See, there exists a wonderful buffer, or safety blanket, when one loves fictional characters so much, that when you actually like someone, you know, REAL it throws you off-guard entirely. I’d seen every episode of television that dealt with the repercussions of telling your crush you liked them: My So-Called Life, Gilmore Girls, The OC, Everwood, Freaks and Geeks, One Tree Hill, Dawson’s Creek, even Hey Arnold. You’d think I’d be prepared…

My advice, dear reader, is to let it happen of it’s own accord and let the chips fall where they may. No books, magazines, or teen dramas can prepare you for what happens in your life; as much as I wish that we’d be given a handbook at the start of puberty, we’re all left to our own devices. That could mean a number of things, from success (constantly dating throughout high school and whatnot) to late blooming (college gets things going, mainly cause high school boys are bigger idiots than college ones from my jaded experience). It’s all in your hands. Crushing is confusing, but it’s also exciting having something to constantly look forward to. Little obsessions every now and again are good for you, just look at Tumblr. Just pop on a playlist and indulge in the bittersweet happiness of crushing on someone, Helga G. Pataki style or otherwise. Lord knows we’ve all been there at some point.

– Alejandra Buitrago, Staff Writer

About Alejandra Buitrago

TV addict, anglophile, and aspiring screenwriter currently seeking her "Great Perhaps". Moonlights as Staff Editor for Inconnu Magazine, though her romantic involvement with Netflix is a priority.

DON'T BE AN ASSHOLE

