Fuck Yeah Pseudoscience!

horoscope

Daily horoscopes! The occult! Personality tests! Pseudoscience is fun!

But people sure do like to rag on pseudoscience a lot. And, okay, it can be dangerous and volatile, since it does not adhere to the scientific method. The claims of pseudoscience cannot be reliably tested, they are frequently exaggerated, vague, contradictory, and often straight-up improvable. Just so long as we don’t approach pseudoscience as though it is an actual science, (and be wary not to let it empty our wallets), it’s perfectly harmless. I personally believe that introspection in any form is a good thing. The more we look within ourselves, even if just to question our motives, the more we can begin to understand the intricacies of our behaviours. For example:

My soft, sensitive Cancerian soul needs you to read, comment, and to love this article. I need constant reassurance that what I’m doing or saying is worthwhile and good. This is a flaw, yes, but as I choose to look at myself like a flawed character of literary fiction, it is one of the many complexities that makes me human. Is it being a Cancer that makes me this way, or is it my being this way, that makes me a Cancer?

My Myers-Briggs type, ENFP (explained here), influences the way I see myself and often helps me put into words those qualities of my personality that boggle my mind. My go-to MBTI source, Personality Page, says this of the ENFP aka “The Inspirer”:

“ENFPs are basically happy people. They may become unhappy when they are confined to strict schedules or mundane tasks. Consequently, ENFPs work best in situations where they have a lot of flexibility, and where they can work with people and ideas. Many go into business for themselves. They have the ability to be quite productive with little supervision, as long as they are excited about what they’re doing.”

This is an extremely important quote for me. On the one hand, it is beneficial to have my flaws pointed out to me, as a catalyst for personal growth. But on the flip side of that, how can I know whether these flaws are even real? How do I know that this isn’t just the result of the confirmation bias? When I look at my work ethic, and my happiness in the context of doing various school projects, when being creative, or when working on this magazine, I often think of this quote. It really resonates with me, either because it’s true for me, or because I’ve let myself believe that it is a part of who I am. Either way, understand that we all have the ability to change at any time. If you don’t like some aspects of your Cancerian self, let that be that part of yourself you work to better.

I’ve often heard people criticize astrology or personality tests like Myers-Briggs for being vapid and mindless. I just don’t agree. If you try to understand yourself and your motivations more fully, you will be able to find insight in pseduoscience. In this Catrific video about extroverts, around 3:08 she says: “I believe it is the ENFP, that is the most introverted of all extroverted types.”

Don’t let anyone try to box you in, baby. Whether you enjoy pseudoscience or not, always be analytical. Any introspection is good introspection. Don’t be afraid to entertain your brain.

Art by Laura C.

About Kellie Hogan

co-founder and creative director of inconnu magazine

3 comments

  1. oh man. I’m a Capricorn INTJ. And while I take astronomy with all the salt I can find, I really love MBTI. I self identify with INTJ to the max. Also I always love a Catrific call out.

    • Oh man oh man you ARE such an INTJ. Taylor and I are obsessed with figuring out people’s MBTIs. So fun. I probably could’ve written a whole piece about the MBTI, but maybe i’ll get Taylor to do it. For the record, she’s an INFP so we are basically twins except i have more friends IRL and she has more friends URL… <3

  2. I will definitely have to check out Personality Page!!
    Have you ever heard of Ennaegrams? The ennaegram is sort-of like an astrological sign mixed w/ a personality test- I think you may find it interesting!

DON'T BE AN ASSHOLE

